GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Intro

Default Newbie Intro

Hello, all!

So, I finally caved in and bought my first BMW 3 days ago, a white on tan 1995 525iA with about 110k miles on it.

Oh.
    My.
    God.

I love this car. I was walking by to do something in the yard yesterday and ran my hand along the driver's side front fender, just to touch it. I've never done that before. Phew.

So, (and I apologize if my search-engine-fu is inferior) here are the outstanding issues I'd like to answer, if possible, in order of importance:

(1) I'm getting some vibration from the rear between 30 and 40 mph in second gear at part throttle. It's especially pronounced when the car is cold. I'm thinking differential? Drive shaft? No clue. Similar vibration happens at about 95 mph and smoothes out at about 120 mph. (!!! Wheeeeeeee !!!) (No, I don't make a habit out of that, just having fun in my new ride...) Tires are cheapo no-name generics but are brand new and properly balanced, so that's not it.

(2) Heat isn't very hot. As in, cranked to max temp on both sides with recirculated air, no A/C, max hot on the dash vents, car at operating temp... lukewarm. Heater core? Somebody said something about an auxillary water pump or maybe the valves. I'm clueless.

(3) My shift lever position indicator on the gauge cluster isn't lit. As in, the LCD works (letters change with lever position) but I can only see them when light hits the dash at exactly the right angle. It's like a laptop display with a blown cathode. Can I replace a bulb, or the lever position indicator itself, or do I need to a new cluster (god I hope not, everything else is perfect)?