GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Thinking about an EAT chip

Default Thinking about an EAT chip

I've heard a lot of good things about EAT chips from the board I usually frequent (roadfly) and wanted to get a few opinions.

I've got a very well maintined 90 535i with about 148K. It idles slightly rough and the milage is about 18 FWY 16 in the city. I know it's hard to get gauge anything from a message, but generally will the EAT chip smooth out an idle? I'm also concerned about it being too far away from stock. I don't want a chip that will remap my computer so much that now it feels like a racecar. I'm looking for added power smooth all the way up the powerband. Any power gains above 4500 RPM aren't important to me.

Another main concern is should I attempt to pass a California smog test with this chip? I plan on keeping the stock chip around for just such occations but if the EAT chip will pass smog that a bonus.

I'm new to this board and just looking for some added info on this.

TIA

booooooooo roadflea. The creator of the EAT chip is a frequent poster here, Mark D. search the forums and you should get quite a bit about the chip, probly everything you need to know and more.

Quote Originally Posted by Alexlind123
    You're my hero.

Default Heheh

I haven't been post too long at the 'roadflea' board either but I'm just curious... what the story is with all the animosity within the bimmer boards. The roadfly board even goes as far as blocking links to other boards, which I think is a little childish, but...

roadflea is crap, when I fiirst was surfing their info was very commercial and the posters didnt know much about rocks, I accidently found this place and was hooked.