GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brake Fluid Light Indicator

Default Brake Fluid Light Indicator

Hi all,

I just recently purchased an 89 BMW 525i 150,000. I am currently having an issue with the Brake Fluid indicator light coming on and off. I checked the fluid and it was a little bit below the max line so I added some fluid to reach the line. When I first turn on the car the Brake Fluid indicator light is off. After driving for about 15 minutes it begins to come on and off. For example when I step on the gas the Brake Fluid indicator light goes off and as soon as I take my foot off the gas it comes on. Also when I step on the brake it goes off. When I take my foot off the brake it comes back on again.

Any idea to what is causing this and how can I fix it?

Does anybody have any feedback on this?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by realness
    Does anybody have any feedback on this?

Thanks
    I have no experience on the matter. My guess would be the brake fluid level sensor.

Ralph Mendoza Jr. - Long Beach, CA

The brake booster operates on the vacuum on the intake manifold. When you step on the gas, the pressure in the intake manifold increases, when at idle, the throttle plate is closed and there is very little pressure. I'm not really sure, but this may cause the plunger in the master cylinder to move by small amounts, causing the fluid level to raise and lower by a small amount. Mabye you have a leak, and after 15 minutes it leaks just to the edge of the sensor? If the resivoir is full and it keeps going on and off, it may be the sensor.
    93 525i / 01 330Ci / 98 Camry / 91 Volvo 240 / 99 Jeep GC