GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problems after engine wash

Default Problems after engine wash

I have a BMW 520i M50 1994.
    We washed the engine with a high pressure water used for washing cars. Engine became very clear and worked without problems at first. But after about 30 mis, its sound changed. It started to sound like a car from 1940s. I don't know how to describe that sound. Somebody told me that 1 or 2 cylinders are not working. After driving for a while there was some kind of burnt smell. I could not identify the smell at first. But it seems like the exhaust pipes close to the engine are about to melt!!! I am a complete newbie, but that what it seems to be.

Before the engine wash I changed the oil (15W-40, Mobil), oil filter and the air filter. Drove for about an hour without problems before starting the engine wash. After the oil change car seemed to be more smooth.

Any help will be appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by t_marat
    I have a BMW 520i M50 1994.
    We washed the engine with a high pressure water used for washing cars. Engine became very clear and worked without problems at first. But after about 30 mis, its sound changed. It started to sound like a car from 1940s. I don't know how to describe that sound. Somebody told me that 1 or 2 cylinders are not working. After driving for a while there was some kind of burnt smell. I could not identify the smell at first. But it seems like the exhaust pipes close to the engine are about to melt!!! I am a complete newbie, but that what it seems to be.

Before the engine wash I changed the oil (15W-40, Mobil), oil filter and the air filter. Drove for about an hour without problems before starting the engine wash. After the oil change car seemed to be more smooth.

Any help will be appreciated.