GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Test DIY

Default Test DIY

I’d lived with the slop for a while now. The vehicle has seen @300,000miles and, as one might imagine, quite a few shifts along the way. Shifting was adequate, but the annoyance factor made this job a priority. Since we needed a new exhaust and flex disk, It seemed like the right time.

The following is intended as a guide for those who seek to regain as much of the original shift feel as possible. I am by no means an ace mechanic and much of the procedure requires relatively basic tools and knowledge. Part numbers or ETK diagram numbers are provided where possible. I purchased the majority of the linkage parts are from the dealer, while exhaust and driveshaft components were purchased from BMA.

Exhaust Removal Notes

All of the manifold to downpipe nuts co-operated so no struggling here, just a long extension (6-8”) on a ˝” drive and a regular socket. The brackets that clamp to the rear muffler were the rustiest thing I encountered and provided more of a challenge. I ordered two more and butchered the old ones to expedite removal. Again, instead of wraslin with the rubber hangers, I quickly cut them with my trusty dremel tool and lowered the exhaust. Depending on your set-up, it might be wise to separate the exhaust pieces prior to removal to ease managing them under the car (read heavy).

Regardless of whether major exhaust components are being replaced, plan to purchase the following;
    - All four rubber hangers (2 x # 18 21 1 712 838) (2 x # 18 21 1 105 638)
    - Two goldy-brassy looking rear muffler clamps, 3 pieces each (2 x # 18 21 1 178 343 - 2 x 18 21 1 178 340 - 2 x 07 11 9 927 022 ).
    - Manifold to downpipe nuts (6 x #1 737 774) and Gaskets (2 x #1 716 888).

You may also want to replace the exhaust clamps if your system is not welded and, of course, inspect mufflers/cat/welds/clamps for weak spots and holes.