GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant

Thread: Starter turns, engine doesn't

Default Starter turns, engine doesn't

Hi Guys, newbie here.
    I was wondering if someone could help. I got into my 92 525i this morning and lo and behold she wouldn't start. As my title says, the starter turns but the engine doesn't. Any ideas out there on how to get it going again so I can drive it to the shop or should I just call the towing company...
    Cheers,
    Jon

...need a bit more information in order to help you with that one. Specifically, can you hear the fuel pump running? (turn the ignition to the ON position, go in the trunk, pull the carpet up and stick your ear to the access panel...it should give a WHIRRRing sound). If it seems to be working, I'd check for engine codes, fuel pressure, and ignition.

Others will have much more to say about this...

best, whit

If the starter is spinning freely and the engine isn't turning at all, the starter hypoid gear is stuck.

This probably means new starter time. It could also mean "whack the starter with a wrench and see if it unsticks the hypoid gear".

I'm reading that as "starter spins but engine doesn't crank over", in other words the starter isn't engaging the ring gear. If that's the case, I think you need a new starter (and a tow).

yep, smack the starter a couple times before you call the tow truck...starters are real easy to replace if you have the time and place.
    95 E34 530I V2.37
    ===========
    Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable.

John F. Kennedy

Thanks for the quick replies guys. I've been surfing here for awhile but never had the misfortune to have to post for help in fixing the car.

Quote Originally Posted by 632 Regal
    yep, smack the starter a couple times before you call the tow truck...starters are real easy to replace if you have the time and place.