GO FISHING, use SLABSAUCE Fishing Attractant
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My Key in steering column turns and feels empty car won't start!

Default My Key in steering column turns and feels empty car won't start!

I am a novice at this, and have read some of the forums on the steering lock mechanism.....but here is my question.....

My car is in the garage (thank god!) went to start car yesterday morning, and put the key in, and it went thru all positions and felt like the inside was empty (no resistance feel). Car wouldnt start....battery is good, lights, interior, etc...fine...

Afer reading the forums, I utilized the suggested reference on how to pull out the steering lock tumbler...(after a little distress I was able to get my homemade paper clip tool to remove the tumbler). I also used some graphite inside it BEFORe I removed it, but no luck to get it started.

Also, at the beginning when I took the key out, the dashboard was ding donging reading "key in ignition". I cannot also, get the car out of park either.

Now, my question is...I have the tumbler out...what next? I do not know what to look for as to what is broken. Any help on the next step and how to do it WOULD be so appreciated.

So far the forums have been wonderful with any prior problems I have found and how to repair them. I would appreciate anyone's step by step "what's next" help.

Thanks!

sounds like the link from the lock cylinder that goes through the column is broken or popped off.

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/partgrp.d...00&hg=32&fg=30
    95 E34 530I V2.37
    ===========
    Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable.

John F. Kennedy

Try it again. Stick the key in till the end. If it is not completely inserted, that can happen. If that does not ehlp, see above comments.

Default I think I found the broken part.....