PDA

View Full Version : Re-Bores and Throttle bodies

Richy325i
10-23-2004, 01:35 PM
Hi everyone newbie here,

I have a 325i (E30) which is currently in a mild state of tune, problem is the big / main end bearings are starting to show signs of wear. So I'm planning a re-build in the near future. What I would like to know is, How much can the cylinders be bored out to?. Also, how much can the throttle body be bored out by?.
What sort of gains can be expected by a large bore throttle body?

All help apprieciated
Richy

winfred
10-23-2004, 10:01 PM
i have a varly modded 90 325ism and have gone almost as far as you can with bolt on's short of forced induction, i am planning internal engine improvements for the near future, i have long tube headers, 5.5mm overbore throttle body (m20 tb honed out for a m50 butterfly, don't do it crooked, the walls are 1-1.5mm thick when done) modded 535 afm (don't have money for ams conversion yet) the ob'd tb is worthless with the stock sized afm, the 535 afm is much larger then the 325, mustang 19# disc type injectors, mildly ported intake, performance catback, theres probably some other stuff that i've forgotten over the years. the general accepted ob done on a m20 is 1mm, that and a e crank gets you around 2.9 with about a 6200 redline, if you want more rpm get a 85-86 524td diesel crank, it's forged and not cast like the gas crank (this is what i have to build into my motor) the e and diesel crank have a 5mm longer stroke then the i crank.