PDA

View Full Version : bmw 735i alarm problem

Kar
10-21-2006, 10:55 AM
Total newbie, so i hope i have not missed a similar post. I have a problem with my 735i's alarm. It keeps triggering and I can not figure out why. I lock the car and after a while the alarm triggers for no apparent reason. I have this car for over a year now, and never before has it done this. I use a key to enable and disable the alarm and not a remote. I have checked the battery and it is fine and fully charged. Does this alarm (original alarm) have a siren battery as well or does it draw power directly. This is a problem as I can not go anywhere as I can not lock my car. Is there anyone that can help with this problem.

shogun
10-21-2006, 09:08 PM
Kar,
most of the E32 experts are here. Maybe you ask the question there
http://www.bimmerboard.com/forums/e32/
In addition you should indicate if that car is U.S. spec. or European spec.
Also indicate which month/year the car has been produced, as this is important to look into the right wiring diagrams.
To find out the production month and year, visit my website below and search for VIN decoder. Just input the last 7 digits of your VIN and you will get those details.
Add that info as your signature on bimmerboard. (under "my account" on top you can add that).
Do you know what kind of alarm system you have?
There was once a problem like this
http://members.roadfly.org/smoothy/False%20Alarm.pdf

The alarm horn is on passenger side (LHD) in the space next to the wiper motor. It dies not have a siren battery. All power comes from the original battery under rear seat. There is usually (depending on the system) a microswitch on top of the cover of the battery. So if the alarm is switched on and someone wants to cut of the battery and he lifts the rear seat, the alarm will go on.
Have you see such a switch? Maybe you misalligned it?

Kar
10-22-2006, 02:21 AM