PDA

View Full Version : Stock CD changer armrest mount (pics)

Dave M
08-10-2005, 09:29 AM
Went by my upholsterer Frank on a whim and asked whether he would modify the rear armrest to accomodate the stack alpine changer (I've seen this mod here at least once). One day and $100 Can. later he said it was ready to go. Seeing as he helped fix both my rear door panels for free, I didn't mind paying the $$. Plus, I'm not very good with a sewing machine :)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/dave_macisaac/Bimmer/cd_mount_1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/dave_macisaac/Bimmer/cd_mount_2.jpg

Just finished fishing the wiring through and hooking it all up.

Just thought I'd share, beats stopping to change a cd,

Dave

bimmerd00d
08-10-2005, 09:42 AM
awesome!

JonE
08-10-2005, 11:57 AM
Cool, does it play in either position, up or down? How did you decide to have it open on that side, or is your car RHD?

uscharalph
08-10-2005, 12:10 PM
Cool. I didn't think one of the wider type cd changers could be put there, but you did it!

Dave M
08-10-2005, 12:29 PM
Cool, does it play in either position, up or down? How did you decide to have it open on that side, or is your car RHD?

Hey Jon,

Car is LHD, but when toying with the idea, I sat in the drivers seat and actually had an easier time wrapping my arm around the pass side of the arm rest to pop out the 'virtual' casette. In this position, the cables exit through the rear drivers corner of the arm rest and can be fed out a corner of the ski bag to the trunk.

It does play in the upright position, but I rarely carry five passengers, so it will most often be in use horizontally. The fit was tight, but very do-able. There's plently of padded material around the entire unit.

Dave M

granit_silber
08-10-2005, 01:23 PM
Awesome!

-ashley

1995 525i
08-10-2005, 02:51 PM